top of page

"Persons will only criticize until you start succeeding..." - Orville Sutherland talks life & God

PAJE Fam, we don't know about you but when we think of Orville, we think Energy and lyricism! This minister is passionate about reaching people and making an impact to expand God's Kingdom and we are excited that we got a chance to get to know him a bit more so that you could too! Let's jump in


PAJE: First of all, the first time we saw you was on stage during a virtual concert and we feel that one of the words that is synonymous with you is ENERGY! Tell us some more, though… who is Orville Sutherland?


Orville: I am a fun loving, family oriented individual who puts a passion in any task I undertake. I am always intentional about my endeavors. I grew up in a full house of talented singers of which I was not one, Lol! I have always had a love and passion for poetry and I always do well in that field.


PAJE: Your sound represents a specific part of Jamaican Gospel music that many haven’t been able to effectively showcase. What led to your decision to hone that sound and boldly stand in that?


Orville: The sound is Jamaican, it is really not unique to me and with that said I must acknowledge, acts like Papa San, Lieutenant Stichie, Goddy Goddy, Prodigal Son among others who kinda paved the way for people like me, giving us an easier path.


The need for it, on the other hand, is great as the youths relate well with it and even though they deem it to be the current style the message remains of old - THE GOOD NEWS OF SALVATION. I'm sure you would agree base on the content you would have heard from me.



PAJE: What would you say are the things that make you different from other Jamaican ministers/artistes?


Orville: I am totally fine with persons making their own distinction with me and other artiste but for me I'm not different. I am just another disciple of Christ sharing the good news of salvation through music. For me it is not ok to do an assessment of myself to see what is different, because for that to have integrity, there would have to be an evaluation of other artiste and such would give rise to the spirit of competition. I don’t want to be competing with individuals I should be collaborating with.


PAJE: What would you say to the person who has something different bubbling inside them based on what God has deposited in them, but they’re afraid to share it with the world out of fear of judgment?


Orville: For such a person I would say: The disappointment you would feel to be criticized for doing something different is only a fraction of the burden of the guilt you would feel to see somebody else succeeding at the very thing you were inspired by the Lord to do a period before. Persons will only criticize until you start succeeding at it.


PAJE: We realize that you’re also quite versatile in terms of your lyrical expressions. Walk us through your writing process.


Orville: Poetry! I have always had this love for poetry and as such, I try to do a poetic evaluation of my music before releasing them.


PAJE: What’s your biggest desire for Jamaica’s Gospel Music Industry?


Orville: My biggest desire is to see many more persons doing gospel music on a professional level in Jamaica. Its hard to have a gospel music festival in our island when we can count on one hand the number of prominent gospel music figures in the country.


PAJE: Who would you say are the top 5 persons on your dream collaboration list if God wills it?


Orville: I have said that it is indeed a privilege to have collaborated with Jermaine Edwards on the song Serious Times.


Jermaine was actually my number one as his dues to the gospel music industry in Jamaica is undeniable.


Chevelle Franklin, Kevin Downswell, Papa San, Prodigal Son, are among the other local gospel acts I would love to collaborate with.





PAJE: What are three things about you that we wouldn’t readily know?


Orville: One thing that always surprise people about me is:………. I've been married for 9 years. I have three lovely sons. I have a passion for football



PAJE: What are your top 3 favourite things about Jamaica?


Orville: I love the fact that it doesn’t matter where in the world I go, if I say I'm Jamaican, I'm already associated with the great Bob Marley and I think that’s awesome. We are known for our unique style of music - REGGAE. And my #1 THERE ARE PLENTY OF RIVERS ALL OVER THE COUNTRY WHICH ARE GREAT FISHING SPOTS… Hahahaaha. Yes, I LOVE fishing!



Thanks a lot for sharing with us, Orville! We can't wait to see what else the Lord has in store for you!


_________________________


Liked this piece? Remember to like, share and comment!

1 Comment


Guest
Oct 26, 2023

Love this interview. I feel the energy, even from just reading his responses. God bless you on your ministry!

Like
bottom of page