top of page

Minister Blessed: Poised for Continued Success

PAJE Fam, we were able to sit down to have a chat with Minister Blessed, and boy are we glad we did. As one of the most consistent Jamaican & International Gospel Artistes, we must pay homage where it's due, and we wanted you to get the opportunity to get to know the man behind the music! Let's jump into the conversation, shall we?


PAJE: What or who inspired you to really get started in music ministry?


MB: My mom has always been a choir director while my dad also sang on the choir. My uncle formed one half of the gospel dub poet duo Kevin and Robin so I have always had an interest in music ministry.



PAJE: You’ve always had a very distinct style and have managed to remain consistent throughout the years! How would you describe your writing style and sound?


MB: When I first began writing songs, it was predominantly with lyrics that simply gave praise to the Almighty and sought to bring honour to His name. In addition, there was an element of Spiritual Warfare. I also would only ever be inspired to write following a lengthy prater meeting or time spent in personal devotion.


Following either of those scenarios, I would then ask musicians or producers to build an instrumental based on the song that I wrote. This was the case for my first album 'Purpose' released in 2007.


In contrast, by album #2 (Keep Pressing On in 2012), I had transitioned into the era of rhythm jugglings where producers would send me their rhythms to write on in order to be a part of their compilation projects which included other artistes as well.


This changed my previous method of writing songs from scratch but now writing based on the melody of the instrumental provided.


The topics I sang about also began expanding to current affairs, personal experience and suggestions made by fans.

I believe my sound has evolved based on maturity but also working with different producers who all bring a different flavour to the ministry.


My third album God Is Faithful released in 2015 was predominantly produced by RB Records with inputs from Remla Productions and Shabach Records.


This was also the first time I dabbled in a bit of Afrobeat, EDM and doing something a bit different by singing a love song for my wife.


My 4th studio album Set Me Free released in 2019 saw me working with new producers for the first time such as Shado Vijon. J2dalyfe, Fresh Fire Productions, Cross Link Productions & Sherwayne Music.


This certainly brought out new flavours from me as well with my first soca song.


I also must give kudos to all the artistes that have collaborated with me over the years as this has in some shape or form helped to push me be to more creative and experiment with different sounds.


Notable mentions include Jodi-Ann Pantry, Dessi-Ann Yetman, Garfield Reid, DJ Nicholas, Ryan Mark & Sean Lypher.



PAJE: We know you relocated from Jamaica to the UK some time ago; how was the transition in terms of getting used to the new environment, connecting with new persons to partner in music, events, etc, as well as just being creative in the midst of all the changes?



MB: It's getting close to six years since I migrated from Jamaica which was something I thought I could never do but God had other plans.


It definitely has taken some getting used to in terms of the difference in culture, food and non- existence of a local gospel music scene or media entity in the vicinity where I reside.


Thankfully I have been able to form relationships and make musical connections across the broader scape of the UK including working with my current producer Newlyfe Records and being featured on various gospel programs hosted by Shekinah Sounds, Premier Gospel, DJ Righteous, DJ Proclaima, Apostle T and Belinda Simpson from Premier Gospel to name a few.


I have also been featured on the UK Christian Chart a few times and received much help and advice from UK based artiste Chris D Ambassador.


With my creative hat on, I was also able to introduce my music to my place of residence Guernsey via a cultural event dubbed Afro- Caribbean Fusion. I headlined two of the events in the form of a normal concert where I did a 45 min set on both occasions.


I also hosted an Afro-Caribbean Christmas family oriented event which included fun activities for the kids, Jamaican food and performances from the attendees as well as special guests.


For this one, I acted as co-emcee as well as performed a few songs in between. These events helped pave the way for me to be featured twice in the Guernsey Press and on several interviews on BBC Radio Guernsey which has also played some of the newer songs from my catalogue.




PAJE: Who is it that you desire to communicate most with through your music?


MB: I don't have one target audience overall per se. I believe I have a song for everyone but it's more a matter of what that person may be open to in a particular period in their life.


What I find is that God lays on my heart various audiences in different seasons.


There are seasons he inspires me to write songs of glory and praise which is all focused on bigging him up, lifting him up, songs such as 'You A God' or 'You Are Holy' which Christians can readily relate to and worship.


Then there are seasons when I am inspired to write songs which are meant to edify the church and call us out on things that we need to do better such as dwelling in unity and consecrating ourselves to live according to the calling we have received.


Other times I have done songs that call sinners into repentance such as 'Get Saved' or 'Change Your Ways'. In this particular season with the release of the EP; I aim to:


a) To give hope to persons who are going through hardships (grief, depression, financial/health challenges etc).


b) To remind Christians of the great commission and give them an anthem to help them feel empowered and emboldened in taking the gospel to the four corners of the earth (physically or virtually).


c) To entertain those who want a song they can dance to as they drive in their car, exercise in the gym, clean the house, take a shower etc but at the same time knowing that in all they do - they are doing it unto God #Glory



PAJE: Who are your top 7 musical influences?


MB: Papa San, Kirk Franklin, Travis Greene are who I would classify as musical influences. I would however like to pay homage to Ryan Mark, DJ Nicholas & Sean Lypher who have each given me solid advice and practical examples to follow regarding elements of HOW to do music ministry over the years.



PAJE: Do you have anything else you want to say/share with the PAJE Fam?


MB: Everything happens for a reason and a season. Don't allow one set back or frustration to cause you to relinquish the plans God has laid on your heart. Keep pressing on in the midst of the storm. Your breakthrough may be closer than you think. ARR SHOOPS!



___________________________________


Liked this piece? Remember to show your support by sharing with a friend and placing a like or comment below!

Comments


bottom of page