top of page

Flavia talks 'Rags' & Life's Journey

Updated: Oct 10, 2023

If you've been in and around the Gospel music industry within the last 5 - 7 years here in Jamaica especially, you must've heard the name 'Flavia Beswick' come up at one point or another. This soulful and impactful minister took some time to answer some questions we asked her as we wanted to make sure our PAJE family knows her a bit better. Let's jump in.


PAJE: Firstly, how have you been doing?


Flavia: I've been great! God has been amazing and I really can't complain. Despite the Covid-19 situation I've still been busy and I'm grateful for that. I recently started season 2 of the Kingdom Creatives Podcast and as released a new song called 'Rags' which was produced by Clayon Salmon. I'm blessed all around.


PAJE: How has it been finding your footing as a minister over the past 5-7 years?


Finding my footing has been both a complicated but worthwhile journey and I say journey because it's still going. I learn new things everyday.


God is still molding me but I'm happy to be someone He's chosen to use as a vessel.


A few weeks ago, she released her latest song called 'Rags' and it's got a BUZZ! Take a listen:


PAJE: Rags; what place is it coming from and what do you hope listeners will receive when they listen to it?


Rags was written based on Isaiah 64:4 which likens our righteousnesses to filthy rags. It's a prayer asking God for cleasing and covering so that whatever I do reflects well on Him and brings people closer to His love.


I pray that this new song will bring about a desire to get closer to God. I also want listeners to know that even though we mess up ever so often we should not be afraid to ask God for forgiveness. We can purify ourselves and should never think we have to get clean first before we go to God. God is the purifier and He's ready whenever we are.



PAJE: What's one unique thing about your musical style or expressions?


Flavia: I love an assortment of genres and this rolls over in my music. It's a melting pot of ideas influenced by different genres.


I've also been told I have a 'jazzy' voice which, I believe, was influenced by music I'd listen to while in college. (Etta James, Sarah Vaughn, Nina Simone etc)


PAJE: What are 3 things about you that persons wouldn't know?


Flavia:

  • I'm a music educator/vocal coach

  • I recently developed a love for cats

  • I'm super introvert but if God needs me to speak, I will




PAJE: As we press towards 2022, what should we look out for from Flavia?

Flavia: We're currently preparing to release an EP. It was slated to be released this year but all things in God's timing. In the meantime, I'll be uploading weekly episodes of my podcast for the benefit of fellow Kingdom Creatives.


PAJE: Do you have anything you want to share or mention to encourage our readers?


Flavia: Don't spend your time trying to fit in. There's a reason you were made the way you are with the gifts you have. You have you own path to walk and though sometimes it may be lonely, that's ok. Keep doing what you're called to do. Someone needs what you carry so just be you. That's the greatest gift you could give the world.



We thank Flavia for taking the time to chat with us and we encourage you to give her your support as she continues to pour out based on God's guidance!



Comments


bottom of page