top of page

"Keep creating and being inspired by God..." - Shanique Watts talks being a Creative & Walk with God

We're happy to hear from Shanique with her having been a great contributor to the Kingdom through Intercession and creative expressions unto God and His people! Let's see what she's got to share!


PAJE: Tell us…. Who is Shanique Watts?


Shanique: I am a singer, songwriter, and producer that is passionate about the Lord and I find it a joy and responsibility to express that through life.


PAJE: What would you say makes you different or a bit more unique as an individual?


Shanique: A relationship with God, my light-heartedness, my ability to work and relate with different individuals, my creativity and attentiveness to details alongside the grace to love well is what I believe makes me unique.


PAJE: How would you describe your sound and writing style?


Shanique: My sound and writing style are eclectic in nature. My music always carries a stylistic groove and substance for the heart, soul, and mind. My writing specifically, mostly reflects my revelation of Jesus Christ.


PAJE: We’ve been following your music for a long time and are excited that you’ve started actively releasing songs as a solo artiste. How has the journey been for you thus far?


Shanique: Some people may have known me from a band called AIU, and some just recently are aware of my music which to be honest I don't have a lot of that released. The journey? It has been one of obedience and creativity. Being obedient to work on the things I believe the Lord has placed on my heart to do and creatively, bravely maximizing my potential as an artiste.



PAJE: Who is it that you desire to communicate most with through your music?


Shanique: Anyone with an ear to listen. Also, God, communicating to Him with the free gift of music He has given me, of His goodness towards me, is important for me.


PAJE: What would you say to persons who are currently sitting in their quiet place, writing songs, poetry, etc but are second-guessing their calling and God’s hand on their life?


Shanique: A quiet place is not a bad place to be. Most times it's where God is gracing us to sit in our identity as His own, so that we may be more efficient in what He has given us to do on earth. Is it possibly a time for us to learn our crafts and be prepared for the platforms we may seek to be seen on?


We are called to be children of God, our talents are an expression of that, they are for and unto Him. Keep that truth at the forefront of your mind and in your heart.


It may help with second-guessing your calling, and resting in who you are than the extent of what you do and when and how you get to do it.


On the note of doing, What are you doing? Are you finding ways to share what God is inspiring you to do?


We can also seek out where there is an improvement to be had in our responsibility of people getting to experience what God has given us.


Lastly, keep creating and being inspired by God. Be careful not to hinder the grace and ability to create by being frustrated with not being seen. God sees you.




__________________________________


Liked this piece? Remember to show your support by liking, commenting and sharing!

Comments


bottom of page