top of page

"God is Holy and He ALONE deserves our everything..." Geneva Ayre shares about Ministry & Life

We got a chance to snag some time with the talented and humble Geneva Ayre soon after she released her latest song, King of Glory. Once we connected, we felt just how much the Lord is with her on her journey and we pray that you're truly blessed by this conversation!


PAJE: SO! You’ve been in music for some time, we see, but we’d love if you could share about your musical journey with the PAJE Fam.


GENEVA: PAJE Fam, this is may sound cliché, but to be honest, destiny has pointed me in the direction of this calling since birth. When my mother was giving birth to me, she sang throughout her entire labour and delivery! I was always singing and composing little songs, but I really started to take music seriously when I was eight years old.


The desire to use my gift to glorify God started to develop when I got baptized at twelve years old and intensified when I started receiving inspiration to write songs two years later.


I have boldly pursued the call on my life by immersing myself in music.


I hold a Bachelor’s degree in music, I am a music teacher by profession, an adjunct lecturer at my Alma Mater - Edna Manley College, I sang in the group URIM 7, sang background vocals for a number of artistes and now I am choosing to obey The Master’s call to use the gifts he has entrusted me with to share the songs He has given me with the world.


PAJE: How would you describe your journey with God and how has it impacted your musical journey?


GENEVA: My main aim in life is to see God glorified hence almost every major decision I have made has been based on what I believed GOD wanted in that particular season.


PAJE: How would you describe your musical style?


GENEVA: I am quite eclectic and rounded based on my musical studies. I enjoy promoting the gospel using all genres. However, the songs I write are always direct downloads from Heaven, so I try to deliver them how I hear them in my spirit.


PAJE: Who is it that you desire to communicate most with through your music?


GENEVA: Isaiah 61:1 has always guided who I try to reach; the meek, the broken-hearted, the captives, those who mourn, the lost - Any and every one I can reach.


PAJE: What would you say to persons who are scared to pursue their purpose because of how big the vision from God is?


GENEVA: God loves you and perfect love casts out all fear. Total surrender is key; God is sovereign and once He gives vision He will make provision.


PAJE: What are 3 things about you that people wouldn’t readily know?


GENEVA: I have a wonderful husband and two beautiful daughters. Perfect love casts out all fear but I still struggle with a fear of dogs, please pray for me and lastly I love Italian food.


PAJE: King of Glory… what a beautiful track. Tell us, what was the journey of creating it like?



GENEVA: One Sabbath as I was ministering at my church, I was having one of those moments where one stands in awe of God’s glory and presence and I started singing the line “There’s none beside You, no one can compare to you, you are holy” from the song repeatedly. When I got home, that line continued to resonate with me, and I could not sleep until I completed the lyrics.


My husband and I arranged it, did a demo in our home studio and then called on some of our musician friends to record the track. When I was voicing, I was actually experiencing excruciating pain and literally called on Jesus after every line as I was determined to finish the song. The journey to completion was difficult as there were several glitches along the way to the point where my husband and I were uncomfortable releasing the song.


Ultimately, we chose the path of surrender, and we must give thanks for what God is doing and the support we have received.


PAJE: What is the core message of King of Glory that you’d like people to receive as they listen?


GENEVA: God is Holy and He ALONE deserves our everything.



PAJE: What’s next for Geneva Ayre?


GENEVA: I am currently working on new music and by God’s grace they will be released soon. I am also in rehearsal mode with my band in preparation for events.


___________________________


Liked this piece? Remember you can share your support by liking, sharing and commenting!


Commentaires


bottom of page